Skip to content

CLE+ Record Store Tour Day 2 Mentor, Ohio

July 19, 2009
Record Den in Mentor, OH

Record Den in Mentor, OH

I can’t believe I haven’t been to this store before. Located at 7661 Mentor Avenue in Mentor OH–oh that’s why. It’s nearly an hour from my house. But I will be back. This is another store that has been selling records and CDs since forever. My quarry is 45s, and after a quick look around I thought I found the only bin of them and dove in. I quickly found my budget’s worth and then looked down to see 2 boxes full of 45s–and across the store—another bin. Curses. I couldn’t put back what I’d already found and start over. I HAVE TO GO BACK!

It’s a classic rock store all the way, which is right up my alley. Plenty of titles that you will not find in the store across the street (Best Buy) CD prices were around $15. They also have VHS (!), DVDs, used LPs, and NEW 180g–200g vinyl. This is another store that has always been a record store first– not a used record store, so the 45s I bought were new and unplayed. And a bargain at $1.99 each. The more interesting finds have picture sleeves and some are colored vinyl marked “jukebox only” A lot of ’80s and some re-issues in the bin.

As I was collecting all my crap (camera, list, purse, records), a kid came in and asked if they had the Nuggets compliation. { Amazon.com: Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era 1965-1968: Various Artists: Music } The owner starting rifling through a CD bin…the kid said, “Oh, no, I was hoping you’d have it on vinyl.” After my own heart.

The damage on the day? $4.50 for a deep-fried dawg with coney sauce and cheese and a small drink at Scooter’s Dawg House. $26 for 12 records in pristine shape. (one record was $3.99, but on white vinyl) Again, .50 over but I needed the cheese sauce, man.

Here’s the pix: Mentor, OH 7/19/09 – a set on Flickr

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 12:20 am

    Believe it or not (and I’m sure you’re probably aware, because I think I blogged about it) I just went to Record Den last year for the first time as well. Again, yeah – it’s so far away. I haven’t been back yet, but that’s because I got distracted by that little store called Blue Arrow.

    Enjoying these posts and pictures. Rock on.

  2. July 21, 2009 12:56 pm

    I am a vegetarian and very happy you tried VegiTerranean on your Akron day. That said, I am dying of curiousity about the deep-fried dawg at Scooter’s. What is that like? Was it good?

    Love following you along on this trip. Very cool.

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      July 21, 2009 1:04 pm

      Thanks Sam, I’m glad you are enjoying the project! And the deep-fried dawg was great. I don’t think it was a natural casing so maybe you could sneak one? Anyway, not greasy or over-done… they’ve got it figured out.

Leave a Reply

