Skip to content

I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone

March 11, 2010

The proliferation of merchandise attached to a band or a TV show is not new. My first experience with it was with The Monkees. There was tons of promo merchandise out there that played on The Monkees’ popularity. I had a talking hand puppet.

Pull the string and they talk! And sing the Monkees theme!

It eventually broke and they didn’t talk to me any more. But I still played with it. There were also records embedded on the back of cereal boxes. Way better than any lame prize inside.

Because of these things, I was a Monkees junkie by age 4.

And they were all but over by then.The show only lasted a couple of years, but as a very little kid I loved it. It’s been in and out of syndication and shown on TV many times. Whenever I find it, I watch. It was just silly fun with great pop songs. No, my favorite was not Davy. It was Mike. Then Mickey.

Some have dismissed them as a bubblegum pop band, but they were more than that. Even though they were a pre-fab group fitted together to take advantage of the fab four frenzy, they did have talent. They did play instruments, they sang and acted goofy and made it all look like great fun.

But their best songs were written by others you say. I say that happens everyday. And especially in the mid-sixties.

The Brill Building was the home of Aldon Music. The “don” in Aldon is Don Kirshner. Aldon Music and the Brill Building was home to the best songwriters in America at the time. Carole King & Jerry Goffin, Ellie Greenwich & Jeff Barry, Neil Sedaka, Leiber & Stoller and Tommy Boyce & Bobby Hart. It was a pop hit-making factory.

Don Kirshner was brought in to handle the music for the Monkees TV show. Boyce & Hart were already on board as a song writing team. And they wrote hit after hit for The Monkees. Including my favorite. “(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone.”

A great screamin' rocker. Steppin' Stone by The Monkees

This is the B side of “Daydream Believer.” 1966, Colgems 66-1002. I don’t remember where I got this, but I bought it for the B side.

Amazingly, I can’t find a you tube video to post for this record. Nearly every other Monkees song is there, even my other favorite, “Mary, Mary.” But there are tons of covers, including The Sex Pistols and Johnny Thunders. And I found out that The Monkees weren’t the first to release this song. It was Paul Revere and The Raiders. YouTube – Paul Revere & the Raiders-(I’m Not Your) Steppin’ Stone.

So, because even The Sex Pistols think this song rocks. It stays in the jukebox. YouTube – Sex Pistols – (I’m not your) Stepping Stone.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 3:20 pm

    The Monkees Greatest Hits was my first Long Player. I played that thing everyday when I was a kid. I also had that same Steppin’ Stone 45! Mike Nesmith (post Monkees stuff) is such an underrated artists.

    Do you have an entire list of what you have in the Juke or are you going to keep us in suspense and drip, drip, drip feed us?!

    Love the new look of the site.

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      March 13, 2010 3:24 pm

      We’ll of course I’m going to drip drip drip feed to you! Right now I’m covering the ones that always stay in the juke and never get changed out. There’s about 10 of those. My master list is not up to date but I have approx. 1200 45s to choose from. I’ll email you a pdf of the list if you’d like.

  2. ken preston permalink
    March 1, 2012 12:05 pm

    RIP Davy Jones.we’ll miss you…….

Leave a Reply

