Skip to content

The Remains Should Have Been Your Favorite Band

July 29, 2010

Spoonfed Records' 1978 re-issue of "Why Do I Cry"

But they’re not. Because you haven’t heard of them have you? I’ll admit, I only heard of them a scant 10 years or so ago. But by 1966, they we big enough to tour with The Beatles.

The Remains

My sister and I were making party mix cds and she brought over a compilation she had of 60s rock. And there it was. “Why Do I Cry.” I played it over and over. Like I was 15 again and had to hear and feel everything in it.

A few years later, I wandered into My Mind’s Eye records. I’ve mentioned the store many times before, but this was the first time I had been there. I was waiting on a pizza from Angelo’s (anyone who’s been to Lakewood knows Angelo’s) and noticed the store next door. I ducked in to waste time, not knowing it would be a treasure trove of great garage rock records. I was poking through the stacks, not really looking for anything, and the owner, Charles, asked if there was anything in particular I was looking for?

Feeling oh-so smart, I said, “Yeah, do you have anything by The Remains?”

He looked at me like I had shown him the golden ticket. Yes!, he said. He walked to the back of the store and pulled out a brand new re-issue by Sundazed records. (note: the version in that link is a newer version that I don’t have, but now want)I had to have it. I took the pizza and my new record home and the Mr. and I listened to it. It’s brilliant. The perfect mid-sixties record. Fuzzy and grunge-y and also poppy at the same time. Every time I listen I can’t believe they didn’t do more. I can’t believe they weren’t HUGE. This is the only real ’60s release. They have since reformed and released Movin’ On. There’s also a 2008 documentary called America’s Lost Band that doesn’t seem to be on DVD as of yet, but I’ll buy it when it is released. Not only for the story, but because it’s narrated by another favorite of mine, Boston-area rock legend, Peter Wolf.

As far as I can tell The Remains only released two singles. I’ve found them as re-issues for the jukebox to chew on.  The Spoonfed re-issue pictured above is from 1978, and pressed in fabulous transparent blue vinyl. The other is a red vinyl re-issue of “Diddy Wah Diddy” by Sundazed Records.

So, because they should have been your favorite band… The Remains’ ” Why Do I Cry” stays in the jukebox.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 6:49 pm

    Testify! Testify! I’ll back you on this one, Stacy. The Remains just may in fact be, “America’s Lost Band”. They are probably still in some Boston area garage buzzsaw’ing chords. These guys, this album, kills.

    They could could have caged-matched the Animals for second in command to the early, early, cocksure Stones.

    Great find.

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      August 2, 2010 10:35 am

      I’m so glad you read this! I knew you would know and love them. It’s in your New England blood!

  2. judd6149 permalink
    August 11, 2010 12:28 pm

    Yeah…it is in my NE blood, but it took my Aussie friend to turn me on to them. No going back now…these guys rattle cages and shake garage walls. Did you play them at your record party the other night?

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      August 11, 2010 12:37 pm

      I did not play them the other night. The Mr. wrangled control over the stereo early and I made due by interjecting Ronnie Wood and Izzy Stradlin CDs unfortunately!

  3. judd6149 permalink
    August 11, 2010 12:41 pm

    Next time. That first Izzy & Ju Ju Hounds CD is a raunchy and riffy.

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      August 11, 2010 12:49 pm

      That’s exactly what I played!

  4. bernard effler permalink
    October 16, 2010 7:31 am

    I have a DJ copy of The Remains 45 red vinyl – Diddy Wah Diddy on both sides with stamped numbers in dead wax. I wish I could find out more about the 45.

  5. March 16, 2012 12:01 pm

    Great post.

    The Remains released four excellent singles: the aforementioned Why Do I Cry?, Diddy Wah Diddy/Once Before, I Can’t Get Away From You/But I Ain’t Got You, and Don’t Look Back/Me Right Now.

    Cheers,

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      March 16, 2012 12:26 pm

      Thanks! Yep I have 2 of them. Still on the lookout.

Leave a Reply

