Skip to content

A Three Dog Night

April 16, 2010

Never Been to Spain. 1972 Dunhill 4299

Three Dog Night put out a LOT of singles. 22 singles from 1968 until they fell apart in 1976. They were hugely popular, and they didn’t write ANY of their songs. Their hit songs were written by the some of the cream of the crop in the rock era; Elton John, Randy Newman, Harry Nilsson, Paul Williams and Hoyt Axton. I have nine of their 45s. One that is still elusive is “Mama Told Me not to Come.” I’ll get it.

One of the songs that stays in the jukebox is “Never Been to Spain.” Although I like the song, it’s the Mr.’s pick. He loves it. So I reminded him of this little blog project and asked him… Why?

NeverBeenToSpain

When he’s put on the spot he’s a man of few words. I asked him what it is about it he likes so much. Is it a childhood thing? Long ago memory? (as you know I have lots of those) His answers:

“It rips good” Me: Whaddaya mean it rips good? It’s not a crazy rocker.

“It sounds like it was recorded live and over-modulated” Me: O.K.

“It’s slow… but fast and good. It just appeals to me”  Me: You know it was written by Hoyt Axton. He also wrote “The Pusher.”

“That guy’s a genius. ‘The Pusher’ is killer.”

I agree. Hoyt Axton was a genius. I knew he wrote this and “The Pusher” but I didn’t know about “Joy To The World,” “Snowblind Friend” “The No-No Song” and “Greenback Dollar.”  If you are not familiar with his music, you might remember him as the dad in Gremlins. Hoyt Axton

So because Hoyt Axton was a genius, on par with Randy Newman (mama told me not to come) and Harry Nilsson (One) it stays in the jukebox.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 3:08 pm

    “Eli’s Coming” — Laura Nyro.

    Hello to The Mr., good to hear from you!

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      April 16, 2010 4:54 pm

      Yup. That’s a screamer. I have it. And yes I should have listed Ms Nyro as well. Thanks Pete.

  2. April 23, 2010 7:37 pm

    Thanks for the Hoyt Axton tip…that was new on me.

    I am partial to the Waylon Jennings version: http://tinysong.com/hKMl

    “…just appeals to me”. That is all that matters…

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      April 24, 2010 12:53 pm

      Glad to be of service! Thanks again for reading. The Waylon version is a good one.

Leave a comment