Skip to content

The Definition of Gorgeous

May 6, 2010

The Genius of Ray Charles. Remastered by Rhino Records. Released July 21, 2009

I own Bose bookshelf speakers that I bought used from a friend. They must be at least 20 years old. My husband tries to kill them on a regular basis by playing either the Stones’ Exile as loud as it will go, or Skynyrd’s One More From The Road. Same volume.

A 14 year old JVC receiver.

A 12 year old Technics turntable. No pre-amp (blasphemy, I know).

When I bought this album from  My Minds Eye Records earlier this year I didn’t know what I was in for. I knew it would be great. But I didn’t know it would make my system sound like it wasn’t even there.

It sounds like the music is coming from heaven. You want to applaud at the end of each song. And in between the songs? Nothing. Not a pop, no hiss, NOTHING.

This album is LUSH. The definition of GORGEOUS sound.

It will not do it justice to include a sample in this post.

Buy it.

Now.

Rhino | The Genius Of Ray Charles.

The folks at Rhino absolutely know what they are doing when it comes to these re-issues. The vinyl is full and clean, a very heavy 180g. The album cover has been beautifully reproduced and varnished to a high gloss finish. It’s nearly as heavy as the record. So if you can, support your local store, and buy it there. Otherwise please visit the Rhino website and order it direct. And poke around while you’re there. There’s a lot more you’ll want for your collection at their website.

Oh yeah, the music… It’s 1959. It’s the “pop music” of the day. What would now be called standards or American Songbook. So this is not early, down and dirty, blues-y Ray Charles, this is the crossover. Songs like “Am I Blue” and “Just For a Thrill” with full orchestration and a chorus of what can only be imagined while listening, as tall, thin, white women in evening dress and gloves. All wrapped up nicely by producer Quincy Jones.

So because it is one of the greatest albums of all time, and because it it so beautifully restored. Please buy it. And enjoy. You system will never have sounded better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 2:34 am

    Again, another great tip! I am going for this vinyl today. Love Rhino…they keep it alive and well. Thx!

    • jukebox1965 permalink*
      May 15, 2010 9:27 am

      You’re going to love it!

Leave a comment